marbled brownies

I know, another brownie recipe. But trust me, this is a good one.

I actually made these a few weeks ago, but I’ve been completely preocupied with many things… Firstly sorting out our new flat, which we move into tomorrow (eep!). Then, job hunting. I’ve actually been looking for a new job since April. It’s been… a challenge. I’ve been doing this course which I finished this month, and graduated with a distinction last week. Yay! I was offered a job today, which is great. In the meantime I went on a well deserved holiday last week to Rhodes, Greece. It was great to have a relax (or more like try to relax while I sorted out flat/job stuff)!

Anyway. These went down a treat. I couldn’t stop eating them! The cream cheese on the top gives a nice contrast to the chocolate, while the crunch of the choc chips give a hint of texture. Perfect!

PS. I won’t be updating for a month or so, as we have to wait ages for our phone line to be set up in the new flat. So, while I wait I’ll do lots of baking so I can update lots when I get back. :)

Marbled brownies
adapted from Deb’s cheesecake swirled brownies

Brownie Batter
115g butter
85g chocolate (milk or dark)
200g sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
100g plain flour

Cream cheese batter
225g cream cheese
75g sugar
1 egg yolk
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 pack of chocolate chips (as many/few as you wish)

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
2. Butter a pan (Deb recommends an 8×8-inch in her recipe). Heat the butter and chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water (make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water) until melted.
3. Remove from heat and whisk in sugar, eggs and vanilla until it’s all well combined. Whisk in the flour until it’s just combined and pour into the baking pan.
4. For the cream cheese batter: Whisk all the ingredients in a small bowl until smooth. Using a spoon, dollop the mixture all over the brownie batter. Swirl around with a knife/spatular. It doesn’t have to be neat!
5. Finally sprinkle the chocolate chips all over the top. Pop in the oven for about 35 minutes.

3 Comments

Filed under Baking & Cakes

3 responses to “marbled brownies

  1. These brownies look amazing! What a great combination of ingredients. And so pretty too!

  2. a cream cheese brownie, i am in heaven! i must make this for my husband, the brownie connoisseur!

  3. Yum yum yum!! These look delicious :)

Leave a Reply

