blondies

I’ve baked brownies, but never its blonde sister. So when I raided my cupboards this morning to have a think of what to make I came up with “Blondies!” I’m pretty busy at the moment with work, so I haven’t updated as regularly as I wanted to, but I try when I can. I’m hoping I’ll be less hectic in six or so weeks when my course has finished and I get some time to myself. Even maybe join a gym… perhaps.

But. What blondie recipe should I adapt? There were so many, and all so diverse. I found The Hummingbird Bakery blondie recipe, but it called for white chocolate. I had dark, but not white. Then, The Smitten Kitchen came to the rescue with Deb’s blondie recipe which looked absolutely quick and easy. I took her advice, and adapted the recipe too. I have to say here that I love Smitten Kitchen. It’s my all time favourite food blog and inspires me with every post. The photography is amazing and it’s owner, Deb, has a way with words. I hope to compile a page with food blogs I regularly read soon, and Smitten Kitchen will be right there at the top. I have to thank my boyfriend for introducing me to it, and thus the world of food blogging.

Back to the blondies, I think the goo makes a brownie/blondie, and if its not chewy it’s not right. So when you’re baking them keep an eye on them to make sure they’re not overcooked. They harden a little bit when they cool too, so bare that in mind.

Chocolate Chip Blondies
Adapted from The Smitten Kitchen

115g butter
220g brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
Pinch of salt
130g plain flour
50g ground almonds
100g chocolate chips or broken chocolate (I used broken dark chocolate)

1. Preheat your oven to 180c
2. Butter your tin (the smaller or larger your tin is the thinner/thicker the blondies will be. So use what you wish)
3. Place a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water, making sure it doesn’t touch the water. Melt the butter and brown sugar together and beat.
4. When all the butter has melted, remove from pan and beat in the egg.
5. Add the vanilla and salt.
6. Mix in the flour and ground almonds.
7. Finally, mix in the chocolate chips.
8. Transfer to the tin, making sure its all smooth, and bake for 20 minutes.

I found the dark chocolate a bit bitter, so I think milk chocolate would have been more to my taste (but obviously it depends on the person, as my boyfriend loves these as he adores dark chocolate). Other than that, these were amazing and gooey, perfect blondies. They do not rise, so make sure when you transfer the mixture to the tin that it’s the thickness you want, as mine came out a little anorexic. No matter, they were still tasty. I’d just double the recipe if you have a wide tin like me.

And for the record, I’m going to buy some white chocolate and attempt the Hummingbird Bakery recipe next time, to see how white chocolate affects it.

6 Comments

Filed under Baking & Cakes

6 responses to “blondies

  1. charlotte020

    wow, those look really good. im just starting out with cooking (and my cooking blog) are they fairly easy to make?

  2. Oh yes, the mixture is very easy to make. The trick is to get a good size tin though, Deb at Smitten Kitchen notes 8×12 (I have no idea what size mine was). The smaller tin the better, as the thicker they will be. For example mine were a bit too thin so for next time I’ll double the recipe. Just keep an eye on them and take them out when still a bit gooey as they harden up when cool.

  3. charlotte020

    great, thanks so much. if you like the hummingbird cookbook (as i see you were going to make blondies from there) i would really appreciate it if you could check out my blog at http://www.charskitchen.wordpress.com where my first posts are on hummingbird cupcakes. thanks, and im going to go get cooking!

  4. charlotte020

    oh wait sorry, my blog address is http://www.discussfood.wordpress.com but the title is char’s kitchen. sorry!

  5. I had a look, I love the Hummingbird Bakery, I always go to the branch in soho and I have their cookbook, its amazing! Good luck with your cooking, i’ve bookmarked your blog.

  6. charskitchen

    hi milly, i just tried your blondies and they were incredible! im so sorry, but my blog domain changed to http://www.charskitchen.com , i don’t know why wordpress didn’t want me to have the other address… thank you so much, and i can’t wait for your next post!!!

Leave a Reply

