gooey st. louis

This weekend has been a bank-holiday-baking-weekend! I’ve been taking breaks between copious amounts of work to take my mind of things, and therefore have been VERY pro-active in baking. Firstly, I made Smitten Kitchen’s Homemade pop tarts which were posted there earlier this week. I haven’t posted them on here however, because I did not adapt the recipe (no need to, they are A-MAZ-ING) and I demand you to go and make your own pop tarts. Go, go!

But this post is about a little cake called St. louis Gooey Butter Cake which came to my attention a while ago. As soon as I saw it, I knew it would be my cuppa tea because I love gooey, I love butter, and I love cake. So what could go wrong?! And It lives up to its name too, it’s very VERY tasty. Living in England, I’ve never seen this cake before in my life, nor have I heard of it, and it needs to be both seen and heard.


St. Louis Gooey Butter Cake
Adapted From the New York Times (apologies for the mix between grams and tablespoons… I tried to convert it as best I could.)
For the cake:
3 tablespoons milk
1 sachet dried yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons)
85g butter
3 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 egg
225g self-raising flour

For the topping:
3 tablespoons maple syrup
2 teaspoons vanilla
170g butter
200g sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg
150g self-raising flour

1. In a small bowl, mix the milk with 2 tablespoons warm water. Add the yeast and mix.
2. Cream the butter, sugar and salt. Beat in the egg, mix.
3. Add half the flour then half the yeast mix, and mix well. Add the rest of the flour and yeast mix and make sure it’s all mixed together.
4. Transfer mix to an ungreased baking dish (make sure this is a very wide or very deep dish- the NY Times says 9×13 and at least 2 inches deep. My dish did not accommodate the rising of the cake for this stage and overflowed slightly). Cover the dish wish a damp cloth or cling film and leave in a warm place for 2 hours. It will rise!
5. After the cake has risen, preheat the oven to 180c.
6. Prepare the topping. In a small bowl mix the syrup with vanilla and 2 tablespoons water.
7. Cream the butter, sugar and salt until fluffy. Add the flour and syrup mix and beat.
8. Spoon the topping over the risen cake and use a spatula to gently spread evenly.
9. Bake for 45 minutes. It will rise and fall and it will be soft in the centre! Can be eaten as soon as the middle has slightly sunk (so it’s not ALL liquid).

From this….

… To this! Enjoy.

6 Comments

Filed under Baking & Cakes

6 responses to “gooey st. louis

  1. St. louis knew how to make people droll. That’s all I can tell…. I never heard of it also, but I’m sooooo bookmarking it. Looks delicious.

  2. Thanks! I’m a big fan of your blog by the way, I have a few bookmarks of your recipes to try. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  3. Your gooey butter cake looks like the real deal! And beautiful pictures! Having lived for years in St. Louis, I totally agree that this cake is just about the best thing on earth. During college I would order a huge square of this cake and a bottomless cup of coffee and hang out at the local coffeeshop all evening. Sugar and butter are great study food. Awesome!

  4. This looks simply delicious, I can only imagine how gooey and buttery they were! And your photos are gorgeous.

  5. Wow that sounds lovely, I wish ANYWHERE here sold it! Its now one of my favourite cakes! Thanks

  6. You had me at gooey. And anything with maple syrup, goes straight to the MUST make list. My family is maple obsessed – I’m definitely going to try this out on them!

Leave a Reply

