the best vanilla cupcakes

I’ve been a very busy little bee lately, as I’ve taken slightly too much work on for myself for my final major project (for my diploma). At the moment I do not have much time to cook and bake, which makes me sad. Very sad. Luckily for you I’ve scheduled some ready-made posts for the next few weeks. Yay!

The weekend is baking and cooking time- my “rest” time. These are my favourite cupcakes. I feel that vanilla cupcakes with no filling need to be amazing. They need to have the perfect taste and the perfect texture and the perfect consistency. These are just that. I found them last year, and whenever I need to make a quick and easy cupcake this is what I bake.

The frosting is from the same article but difference recipe. It’s good. Very good. I like sweet frostings, so for those of you who do not have a sweet tooth (you shouldn’t really be eating cupcakes then, should you?!) you might want to make a different icing, or miss it out altogether, as the cupcake is good enough to eat by itself.

Vanilla cupcakes
Adapted fromDan Lepard at the Guardian
125g caster sugar
125g softened butter
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
150g plain flour
2 tsp baking powder

1. Pre-heat your oven to 180c.
2. Beat the sugar, butter, eggs and vanilla with an electric whisk for three minutes on the highest speed until nice and fluffy.
3. Sift in the flour and baking powder and beat.
4. Spoon into muffin cases (or cupcake cases, which I used on this occasion- it’s up to you) placed into the pockets of a muffin tray.
5. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Creamy vanilla frosting
Adapted from the Guardian
2 tbsp plain flour
50ml milk
225g butter
225g icing sugar
1 tsp vanilla
4 tbsp blue food colouring*
*This is an estimate, as I added it bit by bit. Because of the butter you need quite a bit so it’s not a greeny-blue colour. Use as much as you wish, until the colour is as desired.

1. Mix everything together (sift it!) and whisk with an electric whisk for about 5-8 minutes.
2. Using a flat knife spread onto the cooled cupcakes, starting from the outside and working your way in.

1 Comment

Filed under Baking & Cakes

One response to “the best vanilla cupcakes

  1. Way too adorable not to comment.
    The small intricate gingerbread men toppers are really cute.

    We can never have enough vanilla cupcake versions to try ;o)
    I may just go a little easier on the sugar.
    Flavourful wishes, Claudia

Leave a Reply

